PiBoSo Official Forum

GP Bikes => Bug Reports => Topic started by: Hawk on February 28, 2017, 02:04:59 PM

Title: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: Hawk on February 28, 2017, 02:04:59 PM
I can export a large track .map and .trp file successfully using 3ds Max 2010 64 bit edf plugin exporter, but the very same track file will not export or convert with any other exporter plugin for 3dsMax versions or via the FBX2EDF converter successfully without totally crashing. Seems we have a bug/s somewhere Piboso?

Hawk.
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: Hawk on July 07, 2017, 12:41:56 PM
Hi Piboso.

Any chance of taking a look at the exporter tools and fixing the apparent bug were after export some of the textures in the track scene(often the track surface and kerbs) appear totally transparent? This seems to happen on a very regular basis now and is now severely holding up the track modders work in bringing tracks to GPB. This bug is very frustrating and soul destroying, especially as the track export process with lighting, sampling and shadows during export isn't a quick task in itself.

A quick fix/update would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.  :)

Hawk.
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: janaucarre on July 07, 2017, 01:42:53 PM
+1
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: h106frp on July 07, 2017, 02:30:17 PM
+1
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: Napalm Nick on July 07, 2017, 04:55:16 PM
+1

There are great tracks being held back by bugging tools. The distance to other games is increasing every day.  :-*
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: PeterV on July 07, 2017, 05:11:36 PM
+1
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: matty0l215 on July 07, 2017, 07:12:06 PM
+1
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: Hawk on July 25, 2017, 04:46:35 PM
Bump.... Piboso? Please.  :)

Hawk.
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: PiBoSo on July 25, 2017, 07:46:22 PM

Is the track surface transparent or missing?
If I remember correctly, someone already uploaded one track with this issue ( Brands Hatch maybe? ), and the MAP file was so large it didn't even load in the debugger.
Are you using the LAA tool to make GPB and the track tools work at all? If this is the case then, as already stated, the proper solution would be to create 64bits versions of all the tools and of GPB itself.

Could you please upload one of those problematic tracks?
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: Hawk on July 25, 2017, 08:19:00 PM

Is the track surface transparent or missing?
If I remember correctly, someone already uploaded one track with this issue ( Brands Hatch maybe? ), and the MAP file was so large it didn't even load in the debugger.
Are you using the LAA tool to make GPB and the track tools work at all? If this is the case then, as already stated, the proper solution would be to create 64bits versions of all the tools and of GPB itself.

Could you please upload one of those problematic tracks?

It's not only track surfaces that come out transparent; seems to be a random thing: One export the track surface is transparent, next export the kerbs will be transparent and track surface okay, next export the track surface and kerbs are showing but the terrain is invisible.... Totally random in it's outcome. But all the meshes are there and collidable so that the bike can ride on the surfaces, even the surfaces that come out invisible that should be textured.

We'll send you the link for the problematic track scene file via PM Piboso.

We appreciate you taking a look at this issue, thank you Piboso.  ;) 8)


Hawk.
PS: Would it be a big job to make 64 bit builds of the tools and GPB exe? Or can you just select it as an option for the build output? It's just that 64 bit builds would seem to be the way to go these days?  :)
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: matty0l215 on July 25, 2017, 08:28:40 PM
Transparent, You can ride on the surface but it is see through.

We are having to use 3DS Max 2010 64bit with your plugin because EDF2FBX crashes when trying to convert from an FBX file.

We have to use LAA to get the track to load into GPB because it isuses more than 4gb of RAM to load.

I've been having slightly different problems to Hawk, I am consistantly getting the Track ashpalt and Kerbs Transparent. I havent had anything else transparent (That i know of anyway)
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: matty0l215 on July 25, 2017, 08:59:33 PM
I have PM'd you the .max file i'm using, a .FBX of the Scene and the Track folder.

Just out of interest. What program do you use for modeling?
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: matty0l215 on July 26, 2017, 09:18:56 PM
Any joy?
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: PiBoSo on July 28, 2017, 10:46:58 PM
I have PM'd you the .max file i'm using, a .FBX of the Scene and the Track folder.

Thank you.
The bug is in the exporter, and it has been replicated.
Investigation to find a fix is still in progress.
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: Hawk on July 29, 2017, 07:02:02 AM
I have PM'd you the .max file i'm using, a .FBX of the Scene and the Track folder.

Thank you.
The bug is in the exporter, and it has been replicated.
Investigation to find a fix is still in progress.

Thank you for the WIP-update Piboso..... Just to say that this exporter bug is a show-stopper for track-modding, so a fix as soon as possible(like yesterday. ;D ) would be greatly appreciated. Thank you Piboso.  :)

Hawk.
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: matty0l215 on July 29, 2017, 09:00:15 AM
Thank you for the update :)
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: PiBoSo on July 30, 2017, 09:46:31 PM

Upon further investigation, unfortunately the bug is actually in the files loading.
This means that Track Editor, Map Viewer and GP Bikes itself must be updated.
They will be released as soon as possible.
Looks like they are needed before the Silverstone GP, right?
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: HornetMaX on July 30, 2017, 10:23:59 PM
Should we crowdfund for the coffee you'll need to to that on time ? :)
Title: Re: Track Exporter/Converter bug/s
Post by: Hawk on July 31, 2017, 07:04:09 AM

Upon further investigation, unfortunately the bug is actually in the files loading.
This means that Track Editor, Map Viewer and GP Bikes itself must be updated.
They will be released as soon as possible.
Looks like they are needed before the Silverstone GP, right?

A bigger job than we thought, but if at all possible, an update before the Silverstone GP would be the ideal so we can get the Silverstone track ready for DD in time for the show.

Thank you for the update Piboso, appreciated.  :)

Hawk.