Author Topic: [GPBikes][Track]How to convert rFactor track to GPBikes  (Read 2456 times)

h106frp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1770
    • View Profile
Re: [GPBikes][Track]How to convert rFactor track to GPBikes
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2018, 04:58:48 PM »
Not sure about Max but blender you can split a mesh object into seperate objects by material used - makes it fairly easy

Check PM  ;)
« Last Edit: January 11, 2018, 06:04:00 PM by h106frp »

Wimp #97

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
    • View Profile
Re: [GPBikes][Track]How to convert rFactor track to GPBikes
« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2018, 06:11:21 PM »
If you just want to ride it in gpbikes and not make it a fully done track but just to learn the track a bit for personal use. You can also just name all surfaces you ride on like grass and sand and track TRKASPH so everything has asphalt grip levels and you don't fall through the track, as long as you are fine with that you don't have to go through the entire naming proces...
Wimp #97

Youtube channel with irl trackdays: https://www.youtube.com/user/OnboardRacing1

janaucarre

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 961
    • View Profile
Re: [GPBikes][Track]How to convert rFactor track to GPBikes
« Reply #17 on: January 11, 2018, 07:23:22 PM »
 For max there is a script for separate each mesh by ID, the problem is when all have same ID

Grooveski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 458
    • View Profile
Re: [GPBikes][Track]How to convert rFactor track to GPBikes
« Reply #18 on: January 12, 2018, 08:57:27 AM »
Not sure about Max but blender you can split a mesh object into seperate objects by material used - makes it fairly easy

Same in Lightwave.

My process is to cut/paste the whole model onto a single WIP layer then go through it selecting by surface name and cutting/pasting into new layers (road/kerbs/sand/grass/walls/etc).
For each selection I only have the WIP layer active and as I go the list of surfaces will shrink.  Eventually I'll be left with surfaces who's models are mainly all background visuals. 
By now the model will have thinned out and it's easy to manually select any bits of model that still need to go onto a relevent layer.
After that I just rename the WIP layer to 'clutter'.  It'll still have perhaps dozens of surfaces that haven't been looked at but if they're outside the fences and all just eyecandy then they don't need to be on a layer with a prefixed name.

Takes up to a few hours (for a tricky track with hundreds of surfaces named in an unfamiliar language).  A more straightforward affair might only take 20 minutes or so.