Author Topic: Multi-monitor  (Read 1886 times)

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2097
    • View Profile
Multi-monitor
« on: June 06, 2015, 07:11:48 PM »
Multi-monitors support is experimental, as it was not tested.
So this is a call to all the users with access to a triple-screen setup: please report if it works correctly and if changes are needed.

To enable it, open core.ini in World Racing Series installation directory, and add the following lines:
Code: [Select]
[display]
monitor=0
setup=monitors.cfg

An example of a minimal cfg file with 3 identical monitors:
Code: [Select]
primary
{
screen_distance = 600
screen_width = 400
screen_height = 225
width = 420
height = 260
}

global
{
angle_x = 40
}

monitor0
{
display = 1
        pos_x = -1
res_x = 800
res_y = 600
bpp = 32
        multisample = 4
}

monitor1
{
display = 2
pos_x = 1
res_x = 800
res_y = 600
        bpp = 32
        multisample = 4
}

"screen_distance" is the distance of the eyes from the primary screen, "screen_width" and "screen_height" are the size of the screen only, while "width" and "height" include the border. All measure are in millimeters.
"angle_x" is the angle ( in degrees ) between monitors.
"pos_x" is the monitor position relative to primary one. Negative numbers mean left, positive ones right.


The full options are:
Code: [Select]
global
{
angle_x = 50
angle_y = 0
}

monitor0
{
display = 1
res_x = 800
res_y = 600
multisample = 4
bpp = 32
width = 352
height = 198
pos_x = -1
pos_y = 0
shift_x = 0
shift_y = 0
shift_z = 0
angle_x = 0
angle_y = 0
}

Please note the "angle_y" in global section and "pos_y". They allow to set vertical angle and position, where positive is up and negative down.
You can also set screen "width" and "height" for each monitor, if it doesn't match the primary one.

A maximum of 10 external monitors are supported.

NOTE:
You will have a big performance hit. However, the code will be optimized when everything is working correctly.

JamoZ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Taxidermie fox knows....
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-monitor
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2015, 07:53:38 PM »
Are the side monitors rendered seperatly?

I`ll install and test this feature and then report back.

matty0l215

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2937
  • CAWS Racing #61
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-monitor
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2015, 08:11:46 PM »
Could this potentially work with two monitors, or is it just for triple monitor setups??

I know it wouldn't be very well optimized, just wanted to try :D

JamoZ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Taxidermie fox knows....
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-monitor
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2015, 08:28:22 PM »
Just tried it and the game seems to pick up the CFG, it doesn`t present me with the menu. All 3 screens stay black. When i alt/tab out and back in i see the menu, but with an unresponsive mouse cursor in the top left corner of my middle screen.

This is my CFG :

primary
{
   screen_distance = 900
   screen_width = 565
   screen_height = 340
   width = 530
   height = 330
}

global
{
   angle_x = 35
}

monitor0
{
   display = 1
        pos_x = -1
   res_x = 1920
   res_y = 1080
   bpp = 32
        multisample = 4
}

monitor1
{
   display = 2
   pos_x = 1
   res_x = 1920
   res_y = 1080
        bpp = 32
        multisample = 4
}


I thought the only problem would be figuring out which monitor should be configured left and right, but so far i don`t get a image at all.
I`m using Nvidia surround and my desktop resolution is 5845x1080 bezel corrected, don`t know if that makes any difference...

Napalm Nick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4424
  • #68 NICKED-IT RACING - STEAL THE FINISH LINE
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-monitor
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2015, 08:32:59 PM »
Don't forget I also did this in GpB using AMD EyeInfinity and it worked nice.

Not sure what the difference is for WRS but thought I'd mention it in case it helps.
Owners Club Racing
CAWS Member


JamoZ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Taxidermie fox knows....
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-monitor
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2015, 09:18:55 PM »
Don't forget I also did this in GpB using AMD EyeInfinity and it worked nice.

Not sure what the difference is for WRS but thought I'd mention it in case it helps.

There is a difference between stretching the image across all 3 screens, or having the left and right monitor rendered as seperate screens. The first creates a warped and stretched image on the side screens, making objects appear bigger and closer to you on the side screens then they actually are.

The second one renders each screen seperatly, allowing for a correct aspect ratio and a much more true to life scaling of object on the side screens.

Proper triple screen support :



Stretched image across 3 screens :



Notice the awefully wrong scaling off the mirrors and cockpit on the 2nd image? :)

« Last Edit: June 06, 2015, 09:22:38 PM by JamoZ »

Napalm Nick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4424
  • #68 NICKED-IT RACING - STEAL THE FINISH LINE
    • View Profile
Re: Multi-monitor
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2015, 09:44:17 PM »
Ah cool I see - its good. 8)

Look forward to seeing it in GpB.

Owners Club Racing
CAWS Member