Author Topic: New Rider 3d model  (Read 6736 times)

Manu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 901
    • View Profile
New Rider 3d model
« on: April 28, 2016, 12:07:22 PM »
I'm trying to create a new rider 3d model, but I'm having some problems.

I have a 3d biped model in 3dsmax with all the bones using in the original GPBikes rider 3d model. I think the problem is the bone named RiderRIG_Root.

Here is a picture showing the deformation of the 3d model in the game.

What am I doing wrong? I need something else?

3DSMax Biped


GPBikes Custom Rider


GPBikes Original Rider

« Last Edit: November 14, 2017, 07:00:19 PM by Manu »

h106frp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1801
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2016, 06:44:04 PM »
Just a guess but are the local axis rotated, its just that the helmet axis bug seems to be present

Hawk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6101
  • MOD Team: CAWS / GP-Team: Horizon GP #7
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2016, 11:47:30 PM »
I think I'd better say to you Manu that the rider is tied into GPB physics, so it'll be interesting how you manage that part in the rider integration process. Also, what software are you using to export the rider to Pibs proprietary format? We couldn't find any that would export in that format.  ;)

I'll be following this with great interest because I'd love to see some classic rider models in GPB.  ;D

Good luck mate!  ;) 8)

Hawk.

RiccoChicco

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 423
  • Bultaco lover
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2016, 09:34:03 AM »
@Hawk

The rider is just a rigged 3D model exported as edf. Rig parts name can be read in rider.cfg.

@Manu

Can you send me the 3ds max file in private? Maybe I could try something  :)

Hawk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6101
  • MOD Team: CAWS / GP-Team: Horizon GP #7
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2016, 10:11:13 AM »
@Hawk

The rider is just a rigged 3D model exported as edf. Rig parts name can be read in rider.cfg.

@Manu

Can you send me the 3ds max file in private? Maybe I could try something  :)

Yes but what about when it comes to tying in the animation? Or is Manu just trying to swap the original rider model with a new one? That would be interesting.  ;D

Looking forward to seeing the result.  ;D 8)

Hawk.

RiccoChicco

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 423
  • Bultaco lover
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2016, 12:04:18 PM »
Yep, it seems that Manu replaced the 3D model using a rig named the same as the original ingame rider. The anim works on the rig using parts name, so you should be able to replace the rider (but still no possibilities to modify the animations) and get it work very well!  :)

Warlock

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1165
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2016, 01:33:47 PM »
Foot reduction?   Yeah !   ;D

This could be great Manu, best of lucks

Grooveski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 495
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2016, 05:04:59 PM »
Looks a bit like a rotational transform matrix problem.

Have seen similar oddities when a model has come from a program that's added it's own base matrix and hadn't been reset before export. 
In MAX you can select everything and go to Utilities>Reset XForm>Reset Selected

The quick cure used to be converting to .LWO before going to the game conversion format - always appeared to clear down the matrix.

Manu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 901
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2016, 09:24:10 AM »
I'm still doing tests and have achieved some results. The problem is that the rider is reversed  :o


Blackheart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2227
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2016, 10:53:35 AM »
Rotate the pivot in 3ds?

Vini

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1604
  • Es gibt nur ein Gas...
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2016, 01:13:26 PM »
Would indeed be interesting to know why PiBoSo changed it.

Good find!

Hawk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6101
  • MOD Team: CAWS / GP-Team: Horizon GP #7
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2016, 01:25:21 PM »
Hi Manu.

Have you made any further progress on the above issues?  :)

Hawk

Manu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 901
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2016, 07:33:24 AM »
nothing at the moment  :(

Manu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 901
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #13 on: May 01, 2017, 11:39:11 AM »
Good news! I'm about to get a new, perfectly functional rider model.

I've been doing a lot of testing and I think it will come soon.

Unfortunately I can only change the 3d model but not the animations.


h106frp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1801
    • View Profile
Re: New Rider 3d model - Question for PiBoSo
« Reply #14 on: May 01, 2017, 11:50:31 AM »
Very well done, looks great  :)