Author Topic: FontGen  (Read 1005 times)

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2095
    • View Profile
FontGen
« on: December 13, 2016, 06:47:26 PM »

The FontGen is a command-line program.

Configuration file format:
Code: [Select]
[config]
name = Arial Bold
char_start = 32
char_end = 255
bitmap_x = 512
bitmap_y = 512
spacing = 4
filename = arialbd.ttf
scale = 0.8

HornetMaX

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5501
    • View Profile
Re: FontGen
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2016, 07:45:28 PM »
Thanks !

HornetMaX

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5501
    • View Profile
Re: FontGen
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2016, 08:13:54 PM »
Just trying on a .ttf (http://www.fontspace.com/julieta-ulanovsky/montserrat), what is the "-d" command line option ?
If I don't put it, fontgen crashes.

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2095
    • View Profile
Re: FontGen
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2016, 09:29:26 PM »

Whoopsie doopsie  :-[
Thank you for the report. Bike tools updated to upgrade FontGen to the 1.01 version.


P.S.
The font should have been generated anyway, despite the crash at the end

Warlock

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
    • View Profile
Re: FontGen
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2016, 10:31:37 PM »
.bat file
Code: [Select]
fontgen.exe config.ini font.tga
config.ini
Code: [Select]
name = font
char_start = 32
char_end = 255
bitmap_x = 512
bitmap_y = 512
spacing = 4
filename = wwDigital.ttf
scale = 0.8

the .tga is generated but cannot view it or be opened in photoshop ... what am i missing?

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2095
    • View Profile
Re: FontGen
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2016, 10:52:42 PM »
.bat file
Code: [Select]
fontgen.exe config.ini font.tga
config.ini
Code: [Select]
name = font
char_start = 32
char_end = 255
bitmap_x = 512
bitmap_y = 512
spacing = 4
filename = wwDigital.ttf
scale = 0.8

the .tga is generated but cannot view it or be opened in photoshop ... what am i missing?

This program is meant to generate FNT files, for 2D ( HUD ).

HornetMaX

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5501
    • View Profile
Re: FontGen
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2016, 11:19:25 PM »
Whoopsie doopsie  :-[
Thank you for the report. Bike tools updated to upgrade FontGen to the 1.01 version.
I still see the v1.0 at the usual link.

P.S.
The font should have been generated anyway, despite the crash at the end
True. And they do work fine in game :)

Passing the -d I had no crash and two .tga generated (I can open them, no problem for me).

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2095
    • View Profile
Re: FontGen
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2016, 11:33:13 PM »
I still see the v1.0 at the usual link.

 ???
Please try again. The file size should be 930,655 bytes.

HornetMaX

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5501
    • View Profile
Re: FontGen
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2016, 11:59:37 PM »
My bad, works fine.

Damn PeaZip does not overwrite existing files by default ...  ::)