Author Topic: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...  (Read 440 times)

uberslug

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« on: September 07, 2017, 05:48:46 PM »
I have a cable modem with peaks upload speeds of about 10Mbps. Is this sufficient to host races on a server? It looks like most of the servers are located in the EU and I am considering putting a server online in North America.

teeds

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2017, 07:40:02 PM »
Should be fine, even with ping of 200+ it'll run ok with others.

dibu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2017, 07:56:21 PM »
Stable 10 Mbit/s upload are absolutely ok for multiple servers and 20+ concurrent players.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2017, 07:58:47 PM by dibu »

uberslug

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2017, 09:57:53 PM »
Thank you.

What are the computer requirements? I have a spare i7-3770K running at 4.0 Ghz, 16 GB of ram, a fast SSD, and a 2 GB GTX960 display adapter.

teeds

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2017, 07:27:37 AM »
You could run several servers on that np.

uberslug

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2017, 11:09:14 AM »
Great, thanks.

TimboC137

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • if you can't find it, grind it!
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2017, 11:27:37 AM »
@uberslug
are you taking requests? Any track with Moto3 and forced first person view would be nice.

uberslug

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2017, 11:42:28 AM »
Since I seem to have the bandwidth I am now thinking about two servers; one for Moto3 and one for Moto2. First person view would, of course,  be mandatory as there is no other way to ride.

TimboC137

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • if you can't find it, grind it!
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2017, 12:02:11 PM »
<a href="http://youtube.com/v/FJbmB9k2Y88" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://youtube.com/v/FJbmB9k2Y88</a>

uberslug

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2017, 10:15:08 PM »
I have put two servers up, one for Moto 3 and one for Moto 2 [currently GP600 as there aren't any 12b compatible bikes yet]. Please try them out and let me know if they are working [they work here but who knows what you will find out there].

uberslug

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2017, 12:58:20 AM »
So I had someone connect to one of my newly created servers while I was riding around. They connected, said 'Hi', and then were 'ejected' [sorry Frock57]. What does that mean and am I a bad person because they were tossed out like yesterday's bologna?

Napalm Nick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4548
  • #68 NICKED-IT RACING - STEAL THE FINISH LINE
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2017, 07:26:24 AM »
Did you set a maximum ping?
Dont because everyones ping is high on joining and needs time to settle as the client receives the current track dynamics.
Yes you are bad. ;)
Owners Club Racing
CAWS Member


uberslug

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2017, 10:13:37 PM »
I will unset the ping values.

Napalm Nick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4548
  • #68 NICKED-IT RACING - STEAL THE FINISH LINE
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2017, 02:38:10 PM »
@Uberslug I tested 3 of your 4 servers today and all is good. No cores, no stuttering etc.

And the Ping was 100 from here not too bad considering.

Met pompouny there but big ping difference and much jumping about on track lol.

Servers are good and probably well needed in US. :)
Owners Club Racing
CAWS Member


uberslug

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: How Much Bandwidth Is Necessary...
« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2017, 03:31:08 PM »
@MrNapalm - Thank you for testing them out. Hopefully there will be some States based traffic on them before too long.