Author Topic: head tracking device for input  (Read 1510 times)

Become dust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
head tracking device for input
« on: October 30, 2017, 04:48:39 PM »
does anyone know how I can use my head tracking device for controls input?
I use something called Facetrack noir, and I was wondering if you guys how I can utilize my head tracking device for well, input....

the facetracknoir can have up to 2 tracker sources which allow for 2 types of outputs that is labeled "game protocol"

naturally, i can control the ingame "view" as it would in default. which I do.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2017, 05:06:20 PM by Become dust »

Become dust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2017, 07:23:01 PM »
if, anyone know anything about such controls setup i basically want to know how i to convert my head track input to rider inputs, have no clue how to do it tho, would like to know how.

doubledragoncc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4596
  • If it dont fit HIT it!!!!!!!!!
    • View Profile
    • GPBOC Live Streams
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2017, 07:41:38 PM »
I use EdTracker for body movement by just setting it in gpb input 1 page for left/right and forward/back lean.

Try it out with Facetrack noir?

If Facetrack noir is recognised in windows as a normal control device it should work.

DD
GPBOC Live Streams: https://www.youtube.com/c/IASystemsComputerControls

Teamspeak: Server IP: 82.43.148.211  user password "yougetin"

i5 7600 5.0GHz z270 ASUS Maximus Code Mobo 16GB 3866MHz DDR4 RAM ASUS Strix GTX1050Ti OC 4GB DDR5 Kraken X62 AIO Cooler

Become dust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2017, 07:45:23 PM »
I use EdTracker for body movement by just setting it in gpb input 1 page for left/right and forward/back lean.

Try it out with Facetrack noir?

If Facetrack noir is recognised in windows as a normal control device it should work.

DD

well the issue is that i do not know how to... "bind" my facetracknoir movment to the rider movment as you mention above would like love to know how to, if facetrack noir proves failure i might try the software you use

doubledragoncc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4596
  • If it dont fit HIT it!!!!!!!!!
    • View Profile
    • GPBOC Live Streams
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2017, 07:51:22 PM »
Its not software I use, it is the hardware, EdTracker PRO Wireless headtracking unit.

I will make a video to show you in the next few days

DD
GPBOC Live Streams: https://www.youtube.com/c/IASystemsComputerControls

Teamspeak: Server IP: 82.43.148.211  user password "yougetin"

i5 7600 5.0GHz z270 ASUS Maximus Code Mobo 16GB 3866MHz DDR4 RAM ASUS Strix GTX1050Ti OC 4GB DDR5 Kraken X62 AIO Cooler

Become dust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2017, 07:55:50 PM »
Its not software I use, it is the hardware, EdTracker PRO Wireless headtracking unit.

I will make a video to show you in the next few days

DD


hmm.... interesting the "hardware" I use is called a "Delanclip" and apparently does not show up as a device, which is odd.. I am able to you know "look around" while it is in use but I have no clue how to do "lean" even though all axis can be utilized if that makes sense.

doubledragoncc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4596
  • If it dont fit HIT it!!!!!!!!!
    • View Profile
    • GPBOC Live Streams
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2017, 08:18:43 PM »
Well Edtracker uses Opentrack, you can use the Delanclip with opentrack too so that is the first thing you want to sort out. Once you use open track I think windows will see it as a controller? Then it should be able to be calibrated in gpb so you can then asign it to rider lean in the inputs page

DD
GPBOC Live Streams: https://www.youtube.com/c/IASystemsComputerControls

Teamspeak: Server IP: 82.43.148.211  user password "yougetin"

i5 7600 5.0GHz z270 ASUS Maximus Code Mobo 16GB 3866MHz DDR4 RAM ASUS Strix GTX1050Ti OC 4GB DDR5 Kraken X62 AIO Cooler

Become dust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2017, 08:20:49 PM »
Well Edtracker uses Opentrack, you can use the Delanclip with opentrack too so that is the first thing you want to sort out. Once you use open track I think windows will see it as a controller? Then it should be able to be calibrated in gpb so you can then asign it to rider lean in the inputs page

DD


Thank you very much i will test it out as soon as possible, just find it odd i cannot uterlize tracknoir....

Become dust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2017, 08:29:45 PM »
interresting... opentrack and tracknoir are basically identical in software.... im doing something wrong here and i dont know what it could be, i will look forward to the video you will upload and hopefully explain how to set it up, i can look around.. cant lean tho with headtracker

HornetMaX

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5864
    • View Profile
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2017, 08:45:47 PM »
Check opentrack, it may do what you need.

https://github.com/opentrack/opentrack/releases

Become dust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2017, 09:08:05 PM »
Check opentrack, it may do what you need.

https://github.com/opentrack/opentrack/releases


Thanks, i tested it, as written above they are practically identical :/ anyways looks like i will be off to bed with a defeat :<

poumpouny

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
    • View Profile
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #11 on: October 31, 2017, 05:48:16 AM »
Open track only cannot output head tracker into a "joystick" wich is needed to be assigned as a control, i'm using Freepie wich take the open track output than convert it as a joystick via a freepie script.

https://forum.warthunder.com/index.php?/topic/201647-using-opentrack-with-android-phone-for-headtracking/

Edit : open track can output a "Vjoy" output but i never managed to make it work, that's why i used freepie !
« Last Edit: October 31, 2017, 05:50:03 AM by poumpouny »

Become dust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • View Profile
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2017, 06:56:10 AM »
Open track only cannot output head tracker into a "joystick" wich is needed to be assigned as a control, i'm using Freepie wich take the open track output than convert it as a joystick via a freepie script.

https://forum.warthunder.com/index.php?/topic/201647-using-opentrack-with-android-phone-for-headtracking/

Edit : open track can output a "Vjoy" output but i never managed to make it work, that's why i used freepie !

yeah tracknoir does have Vjoy aswell but does not register aswell :/

HornetMaX

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5864
    • View Profile
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #13 on: October 31, 2017, 08:10:10 AM »
Open track only cannot output head tracker into a "joystick" wich is needed to be assigned as a control, i'm using Freepie wich take the open track output than convert it as a joystick via a freepie script.

https://forum.warthunder.com/index.php?/topic/201647-using-opentrack-with-android-phone-for-headtracking/

Edit : open track can output a "Vjoy" output but i never managed to make it work, that's why i used freepie !
Hmm, I think I recall the same thing: opentrack should be able to output to a joystick but it wasn't working.
For EDTracker it's not a problem, as its output is a joystick already.

The strange thing is that with EDTracker I can use vJoy + Joystick Gremlin and it works fine in GPB (controlling rider lean via the virtual joystick driven by EDTracker).
Maybe worth a bug report on opentrack , the dev is very active.

@ddcc: how you're doing it ?

poumpouny

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
    • View Profile
Re: head tracking device for input
« Reply #14 on: October 31, 2017, 08:49:06 AM »
I don't know if it's a bug or it's me but i will be happy if someone manage to get it working, that way i could get rid of too much software layer and the lag it produce.