Author Topic: It's almost time...  (Read 7124 times)

speedfr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #75 on: May 02, 2018, 11:54:23 AM »

@Piboso : Coming back on a thought i had the other day, if you think about making a box edition even a limited box edition, i'll be on the list for that. Oh yes !  ;D

"An error may become true depending on whether the person who made it was wrong or not." P.DAC.


Missing Gp500 (Microprose)

Testing EDTracker Pro on YT

i7-4790K/16Go/GTX1070/1440p/Full WC

Tosteetos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #76 on: May 02, 2018, 10:14:10 PM »
I'd be all for that myself too!  8)

Myst1cPrun3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #77 on: May 03, 2018, 07:01:59 PM »
In regards to steam modding without the workshop,I modded my flight sim in much the same way that we do GPB, by dragging and dropping, and there is very little issue, as a matter of fact I can't seem to recall one. The only possible issues I can think of is compatibility, and the fact the location of the main GPB directory would change, however I never had any issues with 'non-steam' mods there. Maybe some slight optimization differences, but that's all. That and the VAC system prevents major file changes for online use, so that really depends on if the steam version runs the VAC coding in it. The way I see it is that people who invest in GPB are here for the fun of it, and to have decent races, and not to cheat, so I doubt it'd be an issue but that remains to be seen I guess.
P.S: I would happily re-buy the Sim for steam as I love it that much, but it would be nice not to have to, keep it up  :) :)

Super Taranta !

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Odin.
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #78 on: May 23, 2018, 09:42:05 AM »
Well, on the one side I am happy that the game will grow dramatically, on the other side I am quite mad because I love this community and it will never be the same after the steam release.
SuperTaranta #83

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2534
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #79 on: May 23, 2018, 07:42:14 PM »
Well, on the one side I am happy that the game will grow dramatically, on the other side I am quite mad because I love this community and it will never be the same after the steam release.

First of all, given the experience with KRP, the Steam release will double the sales at best, so nothing dramatic.

Secondly, the vast majority of Steam users will stay on the Steam forum, so hardly anything will change here  :)
Obviously your ambition outweighs your talent

maikeru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #80 on: May 24, 2018, 10:34:41 AM »
Should I wait until the Steam release before I buy a license?

teeds

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
    • https://gaming.youtube.com/channel/UCs343rFt_CdeTuw3sF6Ex-g#tab=1
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #81 on: May 24, 2018, 10:56:58 AM »
Should I wait until the Steam release before I buy a license?

No reason to wait, it'll be the same game no matter where you buy it. There are some bugs but it's a good game and is very playable for most. Pretty sure you'll be able to convert to a Steam key if you already purchased a version from this site prior to the Steam release (this is what happened with KRP so no reason it won't be the same here http://stats.kartracing-pro.com/steam.php ).
« Last Edit: May 24, 2018, 04:13:17 PM by teeds »

Tom HWK

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • #83
    • View Profile
    • Hardwick Graphics
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #82 on: May 24, 2018, 01:39:17 PM »
Moto3 too! Thank you in advance  :)

I don't know how open they are but I would have thought contacting some of the teams it the British Motostar Championship might be the best chance at getting real Moto3 data. They all seem to run ex-world championship bikes.

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2534
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #83 on: May 24, 2018, 09:14:27 PM »
Moto3 too! Thank you in advance  :)

I don't know how open they are but I would have thought contacting some of the teams it the British Motostar Championship might be the best chance at getting real Moto3 data. They all seem to run ex-world championship bikes.

I have NEVER received ANY info from teams or manufacturers, even when there was a partnership.
This is why I'm asking here... Maybe someone has first-hand contacts and can avoid me a huge waste of time.
Obviously your ambition outweighs your talent

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2534
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #84 on: May 24, 2018, 09:19:54 PM »

Apparently Moto2 bikes use Dunlop tyres sized 120/75 R17 at the front and 195/75 R17 at the rear.

According to my calculations, they should have a diameter of 612mm and 724mm, respectively.
However, this doesn't match photos and schematics, where the rear tyre seems to have a diamter around 652mm.

The formula is (195 * 100 / 75) * 2 + 17 * 25.4
What am I doing wrong?

Thank you in advance.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2018, 09:23:21 PM by PiBoSo »
Obviously your ambition outweighs your talent

uberslug

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #85 on: May 24, 2018, 09:25:02 PM »
Your formula is correct, however, tire sizes are not exact.

Have you checked what width rim is being used?

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2534
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #86 on: May 24, 2018, 09:40:39 PM »
Your formula is correct, however, tire sizes are not exact.

Have you checked what width rim is being used?

Apparently, the front rim is 3.75", the rear 6".
How can this data help in determining the exact tyre size?
Obviously your ambition outweighs your talent

h106frp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1837
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #87 on: May 24, 2018, 09:43:46 PM »
Could it be a typo? 57 would get you the correct diameter

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2534
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #88 on: May 24, 2018, 09:55:39 PM »
Could it be a typo? 57 would get you the correct diameter

The numbers seem to be correct:
Obviously your ambition outweighs your talent

speedfr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
    • View Profile
Re: It's almost time...
« Reply #89 on: May 24, 2018, 10:15:25 PM »

Apparently Moto2 bikes use Dunlop tyres sized 120/75 R17 at the front and 195/75 R17 at the rear.

According to my calculations, they should have a diameter of 612mm and 724mm, respectively.
However, this doesn't match photos and schematics, where the rear tyre seems to have a diamter around 652mm.

The formula is (195 * 100 / 75) * 2 + 17 * 25.4
What am I doing wrong?

Thank you in advance.

I think there's a mistake in what you wrote but not what you calculate.


The formula is (195 * 75 / 100) * 2 + 17 * 25.4 = 724.3mm
Cuz with what you wrote its a truck wheel : 951.8mm (inversion of the 75% of the 195mm)

There's something else, if we take 652mm diameter for the wheel it will be then a 146/75 R17 which is not what your picture shows.

In 2010 apparently, the follwing board was on from Michelin on the CEV.
(see picture attached)

Edit : @Duterneracingparts, they have a 195/65 R17 from Dunlop for Moto2 (KR108) ... that will give a total diameter of 685mm...

here  --> https://www.duterneracingparts.com/index.php/kr-108-195-65-17.html?___store=default





« Last Edit: May 25, 2018, 11:34:58 AM by speedfr »
"An error may become true depending on whether the person who made it was wrong or not." P.DAC.


Missing Gp500 (Microprose)

Testing EDTracker Pro on YT

i7-4790K/16Go/GTX1070/1440p/Full WC