Author Topic: GP Bikes beta14  (Read 9252 times)

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2655
    • View Profile
GP Bikes beta14
« on: July 12, 2018, 10:50:09 PM »

GP Bikes beta14 available:
http://www.gp-bikes.com/?page=news

Download:
http://www.gp-bikes.com/?page=downloads
( download mirrors would be extremely helpful and welcome )
Obviously your ambition outweighs your talent

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2655
    • View Profile
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2018, 10:50:34 PM »
Release Notes
- GP Bikes is now a 64 bit only application
- now the nickname is used for the racing name, instead of the profile name

- the garage dampers settings should now be like the real ones. So the base setting, zero, is fully open
- the virtual rider simulation has been changed:
    - when the front wheel is under light load
    - when the rear wheel is lifted
- the ECU anti-wheeling simulation has been changed, too

- the plugins interface has been changed: http://forum.piboso.com/index.php?topic=33.0
- the "Track Day" mode has been renamed to "Testing Day": http://forum.piboso.com/index.php?topic=26.0
- onboard views "mode 1" now works in VR, too: http://forum.piboso.com/index.php?topic=15.msg70886#msg70886
- the second onboard view doesn't have g-forces movements in VR anymore

modding:
- it is now possible to move the engine reaction torque to the swingarm, adding the following line:
Code: [Select]
SwingarmMounted = 1
under the "engine" section of the bike CFG file.
This feature is meant for scooters.
- the "damper" parameter of all the tyres has been lowered to better handle 3D kerbs
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 04:06:40 PM by PiBoSo »
Obviously your ambition outweighs your talent

Klax75

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
  • GP Team: Horizon GP #75
    • View Profile
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2018, 11:31:12 PM »
Curious what is Riding Tracking?

So far 14 feels really good.

Hawk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6286
  • MOD Team: CAWS / GP-Team: Horizon GP #7
    • View Profile
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2018, 11:59:06 PM »
No mechanical slipper clutch garage settings for beta 14? It's not in the changelog.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 01:10:36 PM by Hawk »

uberslug

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 364
    • View Profile
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2018, 12:23:54 AM »
Excellent work! Will now try setting up a server.

Edit: Tried setting up a server. It seems to start fine but it doesn't show up on the Server Listing in GP-Bikes or OnLine.

« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 01:19:45 AM by uberslug »

Tom HWK

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
  • #83
    • View Profile
    • Hardwick Graphics
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2018, 01:27:53 AM »
after riding around for a bit the game runs a lot better for me, i've not had any frame drops on any tracks that i used to.
but it seems like the front of the bike is glued to the floor... i can hold the brakes at full strength at lean and on tuck the front. the bike also seems to want to stand up when i fall off, i had it flip over like 8 times and then spin itself onto its front tyre and stand back up on gravel.

the video is with the brakes on full, same on the GP1000 too.
https://www.youtube.com/embed/UUHYkI4VFH0

also wasn't there meant to be a new riding style?

edit: just noticed when i click Race then click world it says connecting then connection timeout.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 01:31:20 AM by Tom HWK »

SwarleyRuiz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 468
    • View Profile
    • Channel of Youtube: SwarleyRuiz
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2018, 12:55:23 PM »

RobinHoodUKIP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2018, 02:53:34 PM »
hi, is there a guide for replacing the old version with new version, or does the installer do it for you? thanks

MultiCOOLFRESH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 572
  • Burrn rubber, not your soul
    • View Profile
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2018, 03:25:09 PM »
For me, the online seems to work again, finally  ;D

MCF
Heeeeeey Hoooooo

GP Bikes Discord Server (https://discord.gg/CKqrHHF)

passerBy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2018, 03:31:06 PM »
Hello again, Piboso

It's great to see GPB is finally a 64 bit app and I definitely appreciate the addition of the option of headtracking translation axis mapping to rider lean (haven't tried that out yet, since I have to set my tracker up before that).

I noticed you are about to release the sim on Steam. However, there is one glaring and embarrassing issue that absolutely needs to be sorted out before that happens. I'm not sure if you are aware of that physics peculiarity, but this version didn't change anything in that regard.
I'm talking about the issue with cambered surfaces. Whenever I'm going through an inside cambered bend, the bike slides inside sideways (with the rear wheel being more on the inside, adding insult to the injury), which looks beyond ridiculous.

Maybe you know of this issue, but haven't found what's causing it yet... Then could it be possible to code in a "crutch" that would detect such an odd sideways motion and kill it off?

I'm quite sure that this issue is also somehow related to the annoying susceptibility of the bikes to lunge into the turn at slower speeds in some turns (with direct steering on). Also, considering the fact that the rear wheel gets closer to the inside, maybe that also explains why sometimes there seem to be some odd understeer going on.

With that fixed GPB would pretty much be perfect for me.

P. S.: also maybe the on the grass stability is a bit too high.

RobinHoodUKIP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2018, 03:32:56 PM »
think ive messed up, found a guide on updating from the mxbikes, and followed instructions but with gpbikes.
To update MX Bikes to a newer version:
1) download the latest version: http://www.mx-bikes.com/?page=downloads
2) go to the folder where MX Bikes is installed ( usually C:\Program Files (x86)\MX Bikes\ ) and backup the addons ( paints, dashes, tracks, ... )
3) manually delete the MX Bikes installation folder
4) go to My Documents/PiBoSo/MX Bikes/ and delete everything except the file license.ini and the "mods" folder
5) install the new build
6) restore the addons in the MX Bikes installation folder



installed new version fine
but now all my bikes,tracks,rider,stands and tyres are not being recognized, any one help?

passerBy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2018, 04:02:13 PM »
think ive messed up, found a guide on updating from the mxbikes, and followed instructions but with gpbikes.
To update MX Bikes to a newer version:
1) download the latest version: http://www.mx-bikes.com/?page=downloads
2) go to the folder where MX Bikes is installed ( usually C:\Program Files (x86)\MX Bikes\ ) and backup the addons ( paints, dashes, tracks, ... )
3) manually delete the MX Bikes installation folder
4) go to My Documents/PiBoSo/MX Bikes/ and delete everything except the file license.ini and the "mods" folder
5) install the new build
6) restore the addons in the MX Bikes installation folder



installed new version fine
but now all my bikes,tracks,rider,stands and tyres are not being recognized, any one help?
My guess would be you forgot to update the core.ini with the mods section:
Code: [Select]
[mods]
folder=

PiBoSo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2655
    • View Profile
Obviously your ambition outweighs your talent

HornetMaX

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5944
    • View Profile
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2018, 04:37:55 PM »
One minor bug I've noticed: on the track selection page, there seems to be no track  "image", no matrter the track.

matty0l215

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3703
  • CAWS Racing #61
    • View Profile
Re: GP Bikes beta14
« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2018, 04:40:53 PM »
One minor bug I've noticed: on the track selection page, there seems to be no track  "image", no matrter the track.

Working for me...