• Welcome to PiBoSo Official Forum. Please login or sign up.

April 20, 2024, 01:00:00 AM

News:

World Racing Series beta14 available! :)

Indianapolis WIP

Started by Arvoss, March 18, 2014, 08:06:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Arvoss

March 18, 2014, 08:06:08 PM Last Edit: March 20, 2014, 06:12:08 PM by Arvoss
I got a couple of basic 3D lessons at school and I decided to make a track :D Making a track is probably a bit easier than making bikes. I think someone is working on Qatar (Losail) so I'll try to make Indianapolis. I'm using blender to make this track. Making a track will take a lot of time since I'm very new at 3D modeling. But it's to learn new stuff etc. ;)

STEP 1 - HD picture of the track

1 hour and 55 pictures later I've finally finished a HD composition of Indianapolis :D
From far it looks like a normal satellite image but you can zoom in and see every detail! :D

STEP 2 - Surface

I have some questions:

Is this a good start to make a track? (this is Losail) I rally don't know how other guys make their tracks. I don't watch tutorials ATM because I want to learn as much as possible by myself :D So if I finish a track 1 day it will be 1000% scratch built ;)

Is there a source to find good track images? Or do you look for images on Google images?
Is it easy to convert a blender file to a 3DS max file? Has someone even done this or is everyone using 3DS max?

More questions coming soon :P

Alby46

is blender working good? it is also available on linux so maybe i will do some models :)
Still riding a 50cc, but enjoying it :)

Arvoss

Quote from: Alby46 on March 18, 2014, 08:11:14 PM
is blender working good? it is also available on linux so maybe i will do some models :)

We learn blender at school and I like it :D I just don't know if exporting a .blend file to a 3DS max file is possible/easy...

Alby46

i think you can export it to maya and then 3ds max
Still riding a 50cc, but enjoying it :)

Arvoss