• Welcome to PiBoSo Official Forum. Please login or sign up.

May 09, 2024, 02:32:05 PM

News:

GP Bikes beta21c available! :)

Engine Braking and how it works...... ?

Started by Hawk, November 13, 2015, 09:47:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hawk

Just thought this would be an interesting thing to know, because I'm pretty sure it is a misunderstood subject?

Also. Is engine braking in a 2 stroke engine generated the same as it is in a 4 stroke engine, and why is one engine braking(2 stroke) a lot weaker than the other engine braking(4 Stroke)?

So who knows how engine braking works in a motorcycle engine?

Hawk.

Mac

I'm not a mech engineer but I know that EB is generated by the compression phase in both 2 and 4 stroke engines.
On throttle the compression phase still exists but the expansion phase generates power that overcome this loss.
Sport motorcycles engines also have a huge compression ratio (over 12:1) similar to diesel car engines.

2 strokes have less EB because you have to compare similar power ---> smaller capacity values and these engines have no inertia coming from camshafts, valves etc.

doubledragoncc

Dang I wrote a good answer and hit the bloody back key so will do it short.